Professional history and profile

Education in preclinical medicine and biochemistry at the universities of München and Tübingen, Germany. Ph.D. in Biochemistry in 1971 1980 - 1987 Professor of Physiological Chemistry at Tübingen, Germany 1988-2008 Professor and Chairman of Biochemical Pharmacology at the University of Konstanz, Germany

  • 1990 - 1992
    Dean of the Faculty of Biology
  • 1996 - 2007
    Director of the Steinbeis Technology Transfer Centre “In vitro Pharmacology and Toxicology” (InPuT) at the University of Konstanz
  • 1997 - 2003
    Head of the DFG funded Research-Group "Endogenous Tissue Destruction"
  • 1997 - 2003
    Elected peer-reviewer of the German Research Foundation for Pharmacology and Toxicology
  • 1996 - 1997
    President of the German Association for the Study of the Liver
  • 2000 - 2004
    Pro-Rector for Research of the University of Konstanz
  • 2000 - 2006
    Secretary General of the German Society for Clinical and Experimental Pharmacology and Toxicology
  • 2006 - 2008
    Chairman of the a joint Swiss-German DFG-Funded International Research Group (together with Altanapharma, Germany, the Swiss Technology Institute (ETH) Zürich and Cytos, Ltd, Zürich)
  • 2005 - present
    Member of the International ISO/DIN board, in charge of Safety Testing for Medical Devices

Sabbatical leaves

  • 1987
    Hadassah Hospital, Jerusalem/ Israel, Dept. of Appl Pharmacology
  • 1994
    Amgen Inc., Thousand Oaks, California/U.S.A., Dept. of Pharmacol.
  • 2004 - 2005
    Joint Research Centre of the European Commission, Ispra, Italy, Institute for Health and Consumer Protection, ECVAM unit


  • 1973
    International Conference on Glutathione, Tübingen, Germany
  • 1978
    International Conference on Functions of Glutathione in Liver and Kidney, Reisensburg Castle, Germany
  • 1988
    International Conference on Selenium in Biology and Medicine, Tübingen, Germany
  • 1996
    International Conference on Selenium in Biology and Medicine, Beijing, China (co)
  • 1997
    International Falk-Symposium on Autoimmune Liver Disease, Konstanz, Germany
  • 1997
    Conference of the German Association for the Study of the Liver, Konstanz, Germany
  • 2006
    Symposium on the use of Neohepatocytes for in vitro Toxicology

Lines of research (in historical order)

  • Biosynthesis and function of glutathione (1970-75)
  • Characterization of the selenoenzyme glutathione peroxidase and its role in antioxidant defence (1971-85)
  • Role of oxygen radicals and enzymology of superoxide dismutase, together with U. Weser, Tübingen and A. Azzi, Padova Functions of glutathione and its conjugates in the kidney, together with S. Silbernagl, Innsbruck (1974-80)
  • Pathophysiology and enzymology of the selenium and vitamin E and their role in inflammation Drug-induced liver injury: mechanisms and intervention (1978-1990)
  • The role of prostaglandins and leukotrienes in inflammation (1987-1992)
  • The function of pro-inflammatory cytokines in inflammation and shock (1987-2007)
  • Anti-inflammatory drugs, e.g. ebselen etc. (1980-now)
  • Mediators of acute lung injury and pharmacological interventions (1988-2003)
  • Pleiotropy of the hematopoetic growth factors G-CSF and GM-CSF and their role in immunomodulation during sepsis (1991-now)
  • Mechanisms of receptor-mediated apoptotic vs necrotic cell death in the liver (1994-2008)
  • Selective apoptosis in malignant cells (2001-2008)

Honors and Awards

  • 1985
    Honorary Professor of Medicine, Xian Medical College, PR China for work on Selenium
  • 1990
    Galenus Award for Innovative Drug Development (i.e. the nonsteroidal selenium-containing anti-inflammatory drug ebselen)
  • 1993
    National and European Award for in vitro model of Septic Shock (T. Hartung and A. Wendel)
  • 1995
    Sandoz Award for therapy-relevant pharmacological work (A. Wendel, G. Tiegs, T. Hartung, J. Barsig)
  • 1996
    International Doerenkamp-Zbinden prize for realistic animal protection in biomedical research (T. Hartung and A. Wendel)
  • 2001
    Euregio Innovation Award for the detection of airborne pyrogens (T. Hartung and A. Wendel)
  • 2004
    Löhn Technology Transfer Award of the Steinbeis Foundation for Techology Transfer for In Vitro Pyrogen Test Launching
© 2011 - 2018 Albrecht Wendel | Impressum | Sitemap | Nutzungshinweis